The Witch Doctor’s Wife

The Book Cave

“Among all my mother’s children, I alone have survived. Believe me, it would have been much worse, had I not been called Cripple. This name is my protection”


I love African Lit. This book brought back so many memories from when I was studying a book called Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe. I shall not do either books injustice by comparing them, so let’s get on with the review!

9780061727832

Author: Tamar Myers

Publisher: HarperCollins

Year published: 2009

Pages: 307

Genre: Mystery

SYNOPSIS

This mystery novel is set in 1958 Congo, then a colony of Belgium. The story begins with Amanda Brown, a young American missionary who answers her call to faith in Congo. With her mentors unable to return to Belle Vue, Amanda learns to adapt to the culture on her own because the European overlords have their eyes set on other things: mining diamonds from the land.

On…

View original post 411 more words

Leave a Reply

