A Review: The Serpent King

Amanda Reads

The Serpent King by Jeff Zenter is a young adult contemporary novel that follows the story of three teens: Dill, Travis, and Lydia living in a small rural Tennessee town.

I actually got this novel back in March (part of an OwlCrate book subscription box) but I didn’t pick it up until the beginning of this month due to the large amount of books and homework (ya feel?) that I had at the time. I’m normally not a YA contemporary reader, but I have to admit, this book was fantastic.

My Goodreads rating: 5/5

PROS:

  • The characters- The novel is told through the perspective of our three teens Dill, Travis, and Lydia. The story was mainly told around/ about Dill, but that doesn’t matter, I loved all three perspectives.
    • Dill- Dill is caught between a whirl of struggles throughout the book.
      1. His father was sent to jail in Nashville after…

View original post 328 more words

Leave a Reply

