the butcher’s hook review

what the log had to say

‘The Butcher’s Hook’ is the debut novel by Janet Ellis. Published by Two Roads, it follows 19-year-old Anne as she attempts to escape the confines of Georgian London. I know there’s been quite a lot of buzz about this book already, but I wanted to give my two cents anyway. Sorry for the late review by the way – I had read it for the Stratford Literary Festival (report here!) but I haven’t had the time to write up a proper review until now.

I hadn’t heard of Janet Ellis before (what can I say, I didn’t grow up watching Blue Peter) so I really didn’t have any preconceptions going in. Historical fiction is a genre that I dabble in, so in my efforts to read more debut novels, this seemed pretty perfect for me. And I have to say, I was really impressed by it! It wasn’t an intricate…

View original post 354 more words

Leave a Reply

