Half of a Yellow Sun

There's Always Time For A Book

This book is something else… I finished it last week and I wish I could start all over again. It took me nearly a year to read the first half (it’s a pretty heavy premise and I was never in the mood when I was studying at uni) but I read the second half in about three days because I got so sucked into the story. It’s absolutely amazing and a complete eye opener. Well done Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (I know, what a name!)

The blurb reads: The novel takes place in Nigeria prior to and during the Nigerian Civil War (1967–70). The effect of the war is shown through the dynamic relationships of five people’s lives including twin daughters of an influential businessman, a professor, a British citizen, and a houseboy. After Biafra’s declaration of secession, the lives of the main characters drastically changed and were torn apart by…

View original post 318 more words

Leave a Reply

